Home / Guides / Tirzepatide hair loss
Hair and
Tirzepatide hair loss: why it happens and whether it grows back
By the NexLife Medical Team · Medically reviewed by Adam Kennah, MD · Updated
Yes, tirzepatide can cause hair loss, but it’s usually temporary: dermatologists say hair tends to regain its fullness within 6 to 9 months. In Zepbound’s trials, 4% to 5% of people reported it, versus 1% on placebo (label checked November 2, 2026); compounded tirzepatide wasn’t studied.
- Usually temporary: fullness tends to return in 6 to 9 months
- Why: fast weight loss can trigger shedding
- What helps: protein, key nutrients, a word with your provider
Hair loss in the Zepbound trials
- On tirzepatide
- 4–5%, by dose (5 to 15 mg)
- On placebo
- 1%
- Women vs men
- 7.1% vs 0.5%, on tirzepatide
- Stopped because of it
- No one on tirzepatide
- Compounded tirzepatide
- Not studied in these trials
Noticing more hair on your brush? Call or text
4.8 out of 5 on Trustpilot · LegitScript certified
About 3 minutes of health questions. No insurance needed.
Compounded medicines aren’t FDA-approved. A NexLife provider prescribes one only if it offers a significant difference for you compared with an FDA-approved medicine.
The short version
Tirzepatide hair loss at a glance
| Question | Answer |
|---|---|
| Is it permanent? | Usually not. Hair tends to regain its normal fullness within 6 to 9 months, says the American Academy of Dermatology. |
| When does it start? | Usually a few months after a trigger such as fast weight loss |
| Why does it happen? | Telogen effluvium: after a big stress on the body, such as fast weight loss, more hairs rest and fall out together |
| How common was it? | 4% to 5% on Zepbound in its trials, versus 1% on placebo; 7.1% of women versus 0.5% of men |
| Should you stop? | Talk with your provider first. In the Zepbound trials, no one on tirzepatide stopped because of it. |
| When should you see a dermatologist? | If you lose hair in patches, your scalp is itchy or scaly, or heavy shedding keeps going |
- Tell us about you About 3 minutes of health questions
- A licensed provider decides You’re prescribed only if it’s right for you
- Your partner pharmacy ships Usually within 1 to 2 business days, free
Key takeaways
- Tirzepatide can cause hair loss: 4% to 5% reported it in Zepbound’s trials, versus 1% on placebo.
- It’s usually temporary. Hair tends to regain its normal fullness within 6 to 9 months, says the American Academy of Dermatology.
- Women reported it more: 7.1% of women on tirzepatide versus 0.5% of men; no one stopped because of it.
- It tends to start a few months after fast weight loss, as telogen effluvium: more hairs rest, then shed together.
- No proven way to prevent it. Enough protein and nutrients like iron, zinc, vitamin D and B12 support healthy hair.
- Compounded tirzepatide isn’t FDA-approved and wasn’t studied in these trials. At NexLife, it’s $139 a month on the 12-month plan.
What the trials found
How common is hair loss on tirzepatide?
| Group | Placebo | Tirzepatide |
|---|---|---|
| All patients | 1% | 4–5% |
| Women | 1.3% | 7.1% |
| Men | 0% | 0.5% |
“Tirzepatide” is the 5, 10 and 15 mg groups (4% to 5% by dose). Women and men from the label’s pooled analysis. These numbers come from trials of FDA-approved Zepbound. Compounded tirzepatide isn’t FDA-approved and wasn’t studied in them.
The label says hair loss was associated with weight reduction. For comparison, Wegovy’s label reports hair loss in 3.3% of people on semaglutide 2.4 mg (4% of women, 0.9% of men), versus 1% on placebo.
“Hair loss adverse reactions in ZEPBOUND-treated patients were associated with weight reduction.”
Eli Lilly and Company, Zepbound (tirzepatide) prescribing information, revised February 2026 (FDA’s copy)
By dose
Does a higher tirzepatide dose mean more hair loss?
In Zepbound’s trials, the share was similar at each dose: 5% at 5 mg, 4% at 10 mg and 5% at 15 mg, versus 1% on placebo. The label starts at 2.5 mg a week for 4 weeks, then steps up by 2.5 mg after at least 4 weeks on a dose, to a maximum of 15 mg.
| Dose | Hair loss in the trials | mL at 25 mg/mL | Units (U-100) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2.5 mg | Starting dose; not reported separately | 0.1 mL | 10 units |
| 5 mg | 5% (placebo: 1%) | 0.2 mL | 20 units |
| 7.5 mg | Step dose; not reported separately | 0.3 mL | 30 units |
| 10 mg | 4% | 0.4 mL | 40 units |
| 12.5 mg | Step dose; not reported separately | 0.5 mL | 50 units |
| 15 mg | 5% | 0.6 mL | 60 units |
The math: mL = dose ÷ strength (mg per mL), and units = mL × 100. 25 mg per mL is an example only: it’s the strength of the 15 mg multi-dose vial on Zepbound’s February 2026 label (15 mg per 0.6 mL). Zepbound’s multi-dose vials come in a strength for each dose, 0.6 mL a dose, so your vial’s label decides, and your provider sets your dose. Compounded tirzepatide wasn’t studied in these trials.
Why it happens
Why does hair loss happen on tirzepatide?
Dermatologists call it telogen effluvium: after a big stress on the body, more hairs than usual move into the resting phase and fall out together. The American Academy of Dermatology lists losing 20 pounds or more among the triggers. It’s normal to shed 50 to 100 hairs a day; with telogen effluvium, you notice much more on your brush or in the shower.
That fits what the label describes: hair loss tied to weight loss, more often in women, and no one stopping tirzepatide because of it.
On women and men, the label says:
“hair loss was reported more frequently in female than male patients in the ZEPBOUND (7.1% female versus 0.5% male) and placebo (1.3% female versus 0% male) treatment groups.”
Eli Lilly and Company, Zepbound (tirzepatide) prescribing information, revised February 2026 (FDA’s copy)
And on stopping treatment:
“No ZEPBOUND-treated patients and one placebo-treated patient discontinued study treatment due to hair loss.”
Eli Lilly and Company, Zepbound (tirzepatide) prescribing information, revised February 2026 (FDA’s copy)
The shedding timeline
When does tirzepatide hair loss start, and how long does it last?
Weight comes off. The change in your hair cycle starts, but you don’t see it yet.
Shedding becomes noticeable. Most people notice it a few months after the trigger, says the AAD.
Shedding slows and stops. Hair tends to regain its normal fullness within 6 to 9 months.
See a board-certified dermatologist if you’re losing hair in patches, your scalp is itchy or scaly, or heavy shedding keeps going. Other causes can look similar.
What helps
How do you manage hair loss on tirzepatide?
Eat enough protein.
A practical target during
GLP-1 treatment is 80 to 120 grams a day. What to eat on aGLP-1 .Cover the nutrients that run low.
The 2025 joint nutrition advisory lists iron, zinc, vitamin D and B12 among nutrients to watch on
GLP-1s. Ask your provider whether a multivitamin or a blood test makes sense.Tell your provider.
They can look at your dose, how fast you’re losing weight and what you’re eating. Tell us if you’re shedding; it’s worth a conversation.
Be patient with your hair.
Shedding after weight loss usually settles on its own. Hair grows slowly, so fullness takes months to come back.
The four steps above, in order. Zepbound’s label and your provider’s advice come first.
Noticing more hair on your brush?
Call or text NexLife at
What would you pay with NexLife?
Tap where you are now. We’ll show your NexLife price next to it, or tell you we’ll match it.
Pick one above to see your price.
Prices from each provider’s own site, checked November 1, 2026. Brand-name and compounded medications are different products: compounded medications aren’t FDA-approved, and a provider prescribes one only when it offers a significant difference for you. Price Match Guarantee† terms apply.
What does NexLife cost?
One flat price at every dose.
No membership fee. Provider care, a nutrition plan, coaching and shipping are included. Paying less with another licensed provider? We match your regular monthly price.†
GIP + 12-month plan $139/mo
Tirzepatide
Weekly and dual-action. Care, coaching and shipping included. On a 12-month plan; $169/mo month to month.
Check my eligibilityCompounded, not FDA-approved · Not prescribed? No charge for medication

12-month plan $119/mo
Semaglutide
Weekly
Compounded, not FDA-approved · Not prescribed? No charge for medication
Compounded, not FDA-approved. A licensed provider prescribes it only when it offers a significant difference for you. Vials shown are illustrations. Always use the strength on your pharmacy’s label. Every plan and price · Price Match Guarantee† terms
The NexLife Price Match Guarantee†
Paying less elsewhere?
Keep your price. Upgrade your care.
Already on compounded tirzepatide or semaglutide? Pay less with another licensed U.S. telehealth provider or clinic, and we match your regular monthly price for as long as your plan stays active.† Plus a provider who follows your dose, a nutrition plan, a coaching call and real people 24/7.
- 1Send a receipt from the last 60 days
- 2A NexLife provider reviews your prescription
- 3Pay your matched price, at every dose
Locked while your plan is activeSame price at every doseNo membership fee
†Terms: see the Price Match Guarantee† details below. Compounded medications aren’t FDA-approved; a provider prescribes one only when it offers a significant difference for you.
Tirzepatide hair loss: your questions
Fair questions about NexLife
- Will my price go up with my dose?
- No. You pay the same at every dose.
- What if I’m not prescribed?
- You aren’t charged for medication.
- Can I cancel?
- Yes, by email. It takes effect 30 days after we receive it. Plans renew until you cancel; our cancellation policy has the details.
- Do I need insurance?
- No. Pay with an HSA or FSA card, or with Affirm, Klarna or Afterpay at checkout.
Does tirzepatide cause hair loss?
It can. In the Zepbound trials, hair loss was reported in 4% to 5% of people, versus 1% on placebo. The label links it to weight reduction, and it was much more common in women (7.1%) than men (0.5%). Compounded tirzepatide wasn’t studied in these trials.
Is tirzepatide hair loss permanent?
Usually not. Shedding after significant weight loss is typically temporary, and hair tends to regain its normal fullness within 6 to 9 months, according to the American Academy of Dermatology. See a board-certified dermatologist if you lose hair in patches, your scalp is itchy or scaly, or heavy shedding keeps going.
When does hair loss start on tirzepatide?
Usually a few months after a trigger such as fast weight loss, not right away. The American Academy of Dermatology says that’s when most people notice the extra shedding. It’s normal to shed 50 to 100 hairs a day; with telogen effluvium, you notice much more on your brush or in the shower.
How can I prevent hair loss on tirzepatide?
There’s no proven way to prevent it. Eating enough protein, about 80 to 120 grams a day during
Does semaglutide cause hair loss too?
Yes, in a small share of people. Wegovy’s label reports hair loss in 3.3% of people on semaglutide 2.4 mg, versus 1% on placebo, again more often in women: 4% of women and 0.9% of men. Compounded semaglutide wasn’t studied in those trials, and it isn’t FDA-approved.
Should I stop tirzepatide because of hair loss?
Talk with your provider first: shedding after weight loss usually settles on its own. In the Zepbound trials, no one on tirzepatide stopped because of hair loss; compounded tirzepatide wasn’t studied. Your provider can look at your dose, what you’re eating and how fast you’re losing weight.
Is hair loss on tirzepatide more common in women?
Yes. In the Zepbound trials, 7.1% of women on tirzepatide reported hair loss, versus 0.5% of men; on placebo, it was 1.3% of women and 0% of men. No one on tirzepatide stopped treatment because of it. Compounded tirzepatide wasn’t studied in these trials.
Can NexLife help if my hair is shedding on tirzepatide?
Yes, with support rather than promises. Every NexLife plan includes a
Does compounded tirzepatide cause hair loss?
It hasn’t been studied: compounded tirzepatide isn’t FDA-approved and wasn’t in Zepbound’s trials, where 4% to 5% of people reported hair loss, versus 1% on placebo. If you’re shedding, tell your provider. They can look at your dose, how fast you’re losing weight and what you’re eating.
Does 2.5 mg tirzepatide cause hair loss?
Zepbound’s trials didn’t report the 2.5 mg starting dose separately. At the doses they did report, the share was similar: 5% at 5 mg, 4% at 10 mg and 5% at 15 mg, versus 1% on placebo. Compounded tirzepatide isn’t FDA-approved and wasn’t studied in these trials.
Important safety information
Compounded tirzepatide and semaglutide are not FDA-approved, and the FDA hasn’t reviewed them for safety, effectiveness or quality. A provider prescribes them only when they offer a significant difference for you compared with an FDA-approved product. Both medicines may cause thyroid tumors, including cancer: don’t use either if you or a family member has had medullary thyroid carcinoma (MTC) or multiple endocrine neoplasia syndrome type 2 (MEN 2).
Read the full safety information
In studies with rodents, both medicines caused thyroid tumors; it isn’t known whether they cause them in people. Tell your provider if you notice a lump or swelling in your neck, hoarseness, trouble swallowing or shortness of breath. Serious side effects can include inflammation of the pancreas (pancreatitis), gallbladder problems, low blood sugar (especially with insulin or sulfonylureas), kidney problems from dehydration, severe stomach problems, serious allergic reactions, vision changes in people with type 2 diabetes, and a faster heart rate. Tell your care team before any surgery or procedure that uses anesthesia or deep sedation. Don’t combine either medicine with other
Tirzepatide can make birth control pills less effective: switch to a non-oral method, or add a barrier method such as condoms, for 4 weeks after you start and for 4 weeks after each dose increase. Both medicines may harm an unborn baby. Semaglutide should be stopped at least 2 months before a planned pregnancy. Tell your provider right away if you’re pregnant, planning to be, or breastfeeding.
This is a summary, not the complete safety information. Read the full Prescribing Information for FDA-approved tirzepatide (Zepbound) and semaglutide (Wegovy), and talk with your provider. You can report side effects to the FDA at
† NexLife Price Match Guarantee: for new NexLife members switching from a licensed U.S. telehealth provider or clinic with an active prescription for compounded tirzepatide or semaglutide. We match your regular all-in monthly price there (medication plus any required membership, program or visit fee, on a month-to-month plan); first-month offers, coupons, referral credits and prepaid multi-month rates aren’t matched. Proof from the last 60 days required. A licensed provider must determine that treatment is right for you. Not open to people with Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE coverage. Full terms.
About NexLife. NexLife is a telehealth and care-coordination platform. Care is delivered through affiliated, physician-owned medical groups, and licensed providers decide whether treatment is right for you. NexLife doesn’t make or compound medication: state-licensed partner pharmacies fill each prescription, and we coordinate the rest. Available only in states where our affiliated providers are licensed.
“Compounded drugs are not FDA-approved. This means that FDA does not verify the safety, effectiveness or quality of compounded drugs before they are marketed.”
Who wrote and medically reviewed this page?
Leads the NexLife Medical Team, which writes and medically reviews NexLife’s guides, including this one.
Checked hair loss data against the Zepbound and Wegovy labels, and the shedding facts against the American Academy of Dermatology.
- Every fact, sourced. Each price and rule links to the page it comes from.
- How we make money. NexLife is a telehealth and care-coordination platform. We earn revenue when people join NexLife.
- Corrections, fast. See something wrong or out of date? Email care@nexlife.us and we’ll fix it.
Paying less elsewhere? We match it.†
Support while you lose weight.
Compounded tirzepatide $139 a month on a 12-month plan, or $169 month to month, at every dose, with a nutrition plan and real people 24/7.
4.8 out of 5 on Trustpilot · Medical director Adam Kennah, MD (NPI 1144260043) · LegitScript-certified
Compounded medications aren’t FDA-approved. A provider prescribes one only when it offers a significant difference for you.
- 1Tell us about you
Start online with your health history.
- 2A licensed provider decides
Online, following your state’s rules. You’re prescribed only if treatment is right for you.
- 3We ship it, then stay with you
Our partner pharmacy usually ships within 1 to 2 business days. Free shipping, and questions come to us 24/7, never to the pharmacy.
Sources
- Eli Lilly and Company. Zepbound (tirzepatide) prescribing information.
- Novo Nordisk. Wegovy (semaglutide) prescribing information.
- American Academy of Dermatology. Do you have hair loss or hair shedding?
- Obesity (Silver Spring). Mozaffarian D, et al. Nutritional priorities to support
GLP-1 therapy for obesity: a joint advisory from the American College of Lifestyle Medicine, the American Society for Nutrition, the Obesity Medicine Association and The Obesity Society (2025). - NexLife. Compounded tirzepatide plans.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. FDA’s concerns with unapproved
GLP-1 drugs used for weight loss. - LegitScript. LegitScript certification record for NexLife.us.
- NexLife. Compounded semaglutide plans.
- Ro: weight loss program pricing. Checked November 1, 2026.
- Hims: Zepbound KwikPen. Checked November 1, 2026.
- Hims: Wegovy pill and pen, with membership. Checked November 1, 2026.
- Mochi Health: FAQs (membership and medication prices). Checked November 1, 2026.
- Embody: compounded tirzepatide, one-month supply. Checked November 1, 2026.
- Embody: compounded semaglutide, one-month supply. Checked November 1, 2026.
- Eli Lilly and Company, on Drugs@FDA. Zepbound (tirzepatide) prescribing information, revised February 2026 (FDA’s copy). Read November 2, 2026.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Compounding and the FDA: Questions and Answers. Read November 2, 2026.