Home / Guides / HSA and FSA for semaglutide
The paperwork, made simple.
Is compounded semaglutide HSA or FSA eligible in 2026?
By the NexLife Medical Team · Medically reviewed by Adam Kennah, MD · Updated
Yes: an HSA or health FSA can pay for compounded semaglutide prescribed for a diagnosed disease, such as obesity; 2026 limits: HSA $4,400 and FSA $3,400 (checked November 1, 2026). At NexLife, HSA and FSA cards work at checkout: $119 a month on the 12-month plan or $139 month to month, at every dose.
$119/mo on 12 months, every dosePrice Match Guarantee†
- HSA or health FSA: yes, for a diagnosed disease
- Limited-purpose FSA: usually no
- Month to month: the simplest FSA fit
Semaglutide HSA and FSA rules at a glance
- Counts when
- Prescribed to treat a disease a physician diagnosed, such as obesity
- 2026 limits
- HSA $4,400 self-only, $8,750 family · FSA $3,400
- FSA leftovers
- A grace period, or up to $680 carried over, if your plan offers one
- Paperwork
- An itemized receipt; some FSAs also ask for a letter of medical necessity, which NexLife provides
- A year at NexLife
- $1,428 on a 12-month plan, or $1,668 month to month
Your plan asking for paperwork? Call or text
4.8 out of 5 on Trustpilot · LegitScript certified
About 3 minutes of health questions. No insurance needed.
Compounded medicines aren’t FDA-approved. A NexLife provider prescribes one only if it offers a significant difference for you compared with an FDA-approved medicine.
Your account
Which accounts can pay for semaglutide?
Start here. The kind of account you have matters as much as the medicine.
| Your account | Can it pay? | Good to know |
|---|---|---|
| Health savings account (HSA) | Yes, for a diagnosed disease | The money is yours and rolls over. You can reimburse yourself later if you keep the receipts. |
| Health FSA (general purpose) | Yes, if your plan covers it | Your plan checks each claim. Use the money by the plan’s deadline. |
| Limited-purpose FSA | Usually no | Often paired with an HSA. It usually covers only dental and vision care. |
| Health reimbursement arrangement (HRA) | Depends | Your employer decides what it reimburses. |
| Dependent care FSA | No | It pays for child or adult day care, not medical care. |
From IRS Publication 969 and Publication 502. This is general information, not tax advice. Your plan administrator or a tax professional can confirm how your plan works.
- Tell us about you About 3 minutes of health questions
- A licensed provider decides You’re prescribed only if it’s right for you
- Your partner pharmacy ships Usually within 1 to 2 business days, free
Key takeaways
- Yes: an HSA can pay for compounded semaglutide prescribed for a diagnosed disease, such as obesity. The 2026 self-only limit is $4,400.
- A health FSA can too, if your plan covers it, up to the 2026 limit of $3,400.
- A limited-purpose FSA usually can’t: it generally covers only dental and vision care.
- Keep your itemized receipt. Some FSAs also ask for a letter of medical necessity; NexLife provides one.
- Month to month is the simplest FSA fit, because FSAs reimburse care as it’s provided.
- At NexLife, HSA and FSA cards work at checkout: $119 a month on the 12-month plan, or $139 month to month.
Timing
How does your FSA year work with semaglutide?
FSAs run on a calendar. Here’s how a year of treatment lines up with it.
Choose your FSA amount for next year. A year of compounded semaglutide at NexLife is $1,428 on a 12-month plan, or $1,668 month to month.
Your whole FSA election is available from the start of the plan year, even before it’s all come out of your pay.
Pay with your card and save the receipt. FSAs reimburse care as it’s provided, so month to month is the simplest fit.
Spend what’s left by your plan’s deadline. Some plans give a grace period of up to 2½ months; others carry over up to $680 into 2027.
Your plan sets a last day to file claims for the year. Put it on your calendar.
Every program
How do all 17 compounded semaglutide programs compare?
To help you budget, here are the 17 programs in our
| Program | Month to month, all in | Longest plan, per month | Same price at every dose? |
|---|---|---|---|
| PreventiveMD | $119 | Prepaid 3 to 12 months, not in our index | Yes |
| NexLife (publisher of this guide) | $139 | $119 (12 months) | Yes |
| Mochi Health | $139 (at the lowest dose) | $109 (lowest dose, 12-month membership) | No, rises with dose |
| Ivím Health | $140 (at the lowest price listed) | Not published | Not stated |
| Ondra Health | $149 | $96 (12 months, $1,149 upfront) | Yes |
| Alloy | $169 (at the lowest price listed) | Monthly only | Not stated |
| Cora | $175 | $99 (12 months, $1,188 upfront) | Yes |
| Rx.com | $175 | $99 (12 months, $1,188 upfront) | Yes |
| Fifty 410 | $199 | None listed | Not stated |
| MEDVi | $199 (after a $99 first month) | Not published | Yes |
| Refills | $199 | $99 (12 months) | Yes |
| Raeliva | $219 | $150 (6 months, $900 upfront) | Yes |
| Shapely | $238 (low to mid dose; $278 high dose) | $198 (3-month starter package, with membership) | No, rises with dose |
| Noom | $279 (after a $129 first month) | Billed $837 every 12 weeks | Not stated |
| Henry Meds | $297 | About $197 (12 months, $2,364 paid in full) | By amount |
| Embody | $299 (its regular price) | Prepaid bundles, not in our index | Yes |
| Remedy Meds | $299 (every 4 weeks, after $179 at first) | Month to month only | Yes |
NexLife Price Match Guarantee†. Already on compounded semaglutide with another licensed provider, and paying less? We match your regular monthly price. How it works
All in means the medication plus any required membership or program fee. Each price links to the program’s own page, read November 1, 2026. Every program and its notes: our GLP-1 price index.
Pay for semaglutide with pre-tax dollars.
An HSA or FSA can cover a prescribed medicine. Here are the IRS rules in plain words, and how checkout works.
- Prescribed counts. Medicine prescribed to treat a disease, like obesity, can qualify.
- Receipts matter. An FSA checks each expense; an HSA expects you to keep records.
- Limits reset. 2026 limits are $4,400 for self-only HSAs and $3,400 for health FSAs.
One price. Paid your way.
- $119 a month on 12 months, at every dose. Semaglutide on a 12-month plan, or $139 month to month, the same price all year.
- HSA and FSA cards. Accepted at checkout, along with pay-later options.
- Care included. A provider review, a nutrition plan and a coaching call.
Real people, real numbers. We’ll tell you what your plan administrator may need. Call or text
Check my eligibilityCompounded, not FDA-approved: a licensed provider prescribes it only when it offers a significant difference for you.
Paperwork
What does a letter of medical necessity for semaglutide say?
Some FSAs ask for one when an expense could be medical care or general wellness, as weight-loss treatment can be. NexLife provides this letter for HSA and FSA claims. A typical letter covers:
- Your name, and the condition being treated, such as obesity
- The treatment: prescribed semaglutide, and nutrition counseling if your plan covers it
- Why it’s needed: to treat the condition your clinician diagnosed
- How long: many plans want a date range, often up to 12 months
- Your clinician’s signature and credentials
Plans differ on what a letter needs and how long it stays valid, and we’ll tell you what we can send.
Other routes
Are Wegovy and Ozempic HSA or FSA eligible?
Wegovy counts the same way. Brand-name Wegovy follows the same IRS rule. Its self-pay pen runs about $4,237 for the first year (13 four-week boxes), above the $3,400 FSA limit but inside the $4,400 self-only HSA limit. The Wegovy pill is $149 to $299 a month.
Ozempic for type 2 diabetes counts too. It’s a prescribed medicine for a diagnosed disease.
On Medicare? You can’t add money to an HSA once you enroll, but you can still spend what’s in it. Medicare’s
In their words
What do the FDA, Wegovy’s label and Medicare say that matters for your HSA or FSA?
The IRS rules above turn on a prescription and a diagnosis. These three lines, word for word, speak to both, and to Medicare.
Before you pay with an HSA or FSA, check where the medicine comes from; the FDA puts it plainly.
“Patients should obtain a prescription from their doctor and fill the prescription at a state-licensed pharmacy.”
U.S. Food and Drug Administration, FDA’s Concerns with Unapproved GLP-1 Drugs Used for Weight Loss
The IRS rule turns on a diagnosed disease, and here is how Wegovy’s label words its weight-management use.
“To reduce excess body weight and maintain weight reduction long term in adults with obesity, or in adults with overweight in the presence of at least one weight-related comorbid condition.”
Novo Nordisk, Wegovy (semaglutide) prescribing information, section 1, Indications and usage (revised June 2026)
On Medicare you can still spend HSA money but can’t add more, and if you qualify for the GLP-1 Bridge, it may cost less.
“You’ll pay a $50 copayment to the pharmacy for a one-month supply (either 28 or 30 days, depending on drug).”
Medicare.gov (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services), Weight loss drugs
At NexLife
How do you use your HSA or FSA card at NexLife?
Your plan’s rules come first.
Your account’s rules decide whether it pays for prescribed weight-loss medication and what proof it wants; call or text us and we’ll tell you what we can send.
Get your prescription.
Answer the online health questions; a licensed provider reviews them and decides whether semaglutide is right for you.
Pay with your HSA or FSA card.
$119 a month on a 12-month plan, or $139 month to month, at every dose, all in. If you’re not prescribed, you aren’t charged for medication.
Keep every receipt.
For claims, card reviews and your tax records.
Paperwork questions? One number.
Call or text us 24/7 at
Vial math
How many units is your semaglutide dose?
It depends on your vial’s strength. Here are the Wegovy label’s dose steps at two example strengths.
| Weeks | Weekly dose | At 2.5 mg/mL | At 5 mg/mL |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 to 4 | 0.25 mg | 0.1 mL (10 units) | 0.05 mL (5 units) |
| 5 to 8 | 0.5 mg | 0.2 mL (20 units) | 0.1 mL (10 units) |
| 9 to 12 | 1 mg | 0.4 mL (40 units) | 0.2 mL (20 units) |
| 13 to 16 | 1.7 mg | 0.68 mL (68 units) | 0.34 mL (34 units) |
| 17 onward | 2.4 mg | 0.96 mL (96 units) | 0.48 mL (48 units) |
The math: mL = dose ÷ strength (mg per mL); units = mL × 100. At 2.5 mg/mL, 1 mg is 1 ÷ 2.5 = 0.4 mL, or 40 units. At 5 mg/mL, the same 1 mg is 0.2 mL, or 20 units.
Both strengths are examples only. The same dose is a different number of units at a different strength, so read the strength on your own vial’s label. Your prescription sets your dose and schedule, which may differ from these label steps. Every step: the semaglutide dosage chart.
What would you pay with NexLife?
Tap where you are now. We’ll show your NexLife price next to it, or tell you we’ll match it.
Pick one above to see your price.
Prices from each provider’s own site, checked November 1, 2026. Brand-name and compounded medications are different products: compounded medications aren’t FDA-approved, and a provider prescribes one only when it offers a significant difference for you. Price Match Guarantee† terms apply.
What does NexLife cost?
One flat price at every dose.
No membership fee. Provider care, a nutrition plan, coaching and shipping are included. Paying less with another licensed provider? We match your regular monthly price.†
GIP + 12-month plan $139/mo
Tirzepatide
Weekly and dual-action. Care, coaching and shipping included. On a 12-month plan; $169/mo month to month.
Check my eligibilityCompounded, not FDA-approved · Not prescribed? No charge for medication

12-month plan $119/mo
Semaglutide
Weekly
Compounded, not FDA-approved · Not prescribed? No charge for medication
Compounded, not FDA-approved. A licensed provider prescribes it only when it offers a significant difference for you. Vials shown are illustrations. Always use the strength on your pharmacy’s label. Every plan and price · Price Match Guarantee† terms
The NexLife Price Match Guarantee†
Paying less elsewhere?
Keep your price. Upgrade your care.
Already on compounded tirzepatide or semaglutide? Pay less with another licensed U.S. telehealth provider or clinic, and we match your regular monthly price for as long as your plan stays active.† Plus a provider who follows your dose, a nutrition plan, a coaching call and real people 24/7.
- 1Send a receipt from the last 60 days
- 2A NexLife provider reviews your prescription
- 3Pay your matched price, at every dose
Locked while your plan is activeSame price at every doseNo membership fee
†Terms: see the Price Match Guarantee† details below. Compounded medications aren’t FDA-approved; a provider prescribes one only when it offers a significant difference for you.
HSA and FSA for semaglutide: your questions
Fair questions about NexLife
- Will my price go up with my dose?
- No. You pay the same at every dose.
- What if I’m not prescribed?
- You aren’t charged for medication.
- Can I cancel?
- Yes, by email. It takes effect 30 days after we receive it. Plans renew until you cancel; our cancellation policy has the details.
- Do I need insurance?
- No. Pay with an HSA or FSA card, or with Affirm, Klarna or Afterpay at checkout.
Is compounded semaglutide HSA-eligible?
It can be, when a physician prescribes it to treat a disease they’ve diagnosed, such as obesity. For appearance or general health, it doesn’t qualify. In 2026, you can put up to $4,400 in a self-only HSA, or $8,750 for a family. The money is yours and rolls over.
Can I prepay a 12-month plan with my FSA?
It depends on your plan. FSAs reimburse care as it’s provided, so a charge for months you haven’t received yet may not be approved. Month to month is the simplest fit. At NexLife, that’s $139 a month at every dose, or $1,668 for a year, under the $3,400 health FSA limit for 2026.
Can I use a limited-purpose FSA for semaglutide?
Usually not. Limited-purpose FSAs, often paired with an HSA, generally cover only dental and vision care. If you have both, your HSA is the account that can pay for prescribed semaglutide, when it treats a diagnosed disease such as obesity. Your plan administrator can confirm what your FSA covers.
What if my FSA card is declined?
Pay another way, then send your plan a claim with the itemized receipt, and a letter of medical necessity if it asks for one. NexLife provides both. Call or text us 24/7 at (949) 818-8000 with what your plan asks for, and we’ll send what it needs.
Can I use my HSA for Wegovy or Ozempic?
Yes, when it’s prescribed to treat a diagnosed disease: Wegovy treats obesity, and Ozempic treats type 2 diabetes. Wegovy’s self-pay pen runs about $4,237 for the first year, inside the $4,400 self-only HSA limit for 2026. On Medicare, you can still spend what’s in your HSA, but you can’t add new money.
Is the Wegovy pill FSA eligible?
Under the same IRS rule, yes, when it’s prescribed to treat a diagnosed disease, such as obesity. Your FSA decides what proof it needs: many ask for an itemized receipt, and some ask for a letter of medical necessity. The Wegovy pill is $149 to $299 a month self-pay (checked November 1, 2026).
Does NexLife accept HSA and FSA cards?
Yes, at checkout: compounded semaglutide is $119 a month on the 12-month plan, or $139 month to month, at every dose. Keep the itemized receipt for your plan. If it asks for more, call or text us at (949) 818-8000 and we’ll tell you what we can send.
What’s the 2026 FSA limit?
$3,400 for a health FSA in 2026. If your plan offers a carryover, up to $680 of unused money can roll into 2027; other plans give a grace period of up to 2½ months instead. A year of compounded semaglutide at NexLife is $1,428 on the 12-month plan, or $1,668 month to month.
Is semaglutide FSA eligible for weight loss?
It can be, when a physician prescribes it to treat a disease they’ve diagnosed, such as obesity. Weight loss for appearance or general health doesn’t qualify. A general-purpose health FSA can pay if your plan covers it, up to the 2026 limit of $3,400; a limited-purpose FSA usually can’t.
What do I need to use my FSA for semaglutide?
Your itemized receipt, and for some FSAs, a letter of medical necessity; NexLife provides both. A typical letter covers the condition being treated, such as obesity, the prescribed treatment, why it’s needed and for how long, signed by your clinician. Check what your plan asks for before you pay.
Can I use an HRA for semaglutide?
It depends on your employer, which decides what an HRA reimburses. An HSA can pay for compounded semaglutide prescribed for a diagnosed disease, such as obesity, and a general-purpose health FSA can too if your plan covers it.
Can I pay for semaglutide now and reimburse myself from my HSA later?
Yes, if you keep the receipts. HSA money is yours and rolls over, and you can reimburse yourself later for compounded semaglutide prescribed for a diagnosed disease, such as obesity. An HSA expects you to keep records.
Can I use a dependent care FSA for semaglutide?
No. A dependent care FSA pays for child or adult day care, not medical care. A general-purpose health FSA can pay for prescribed semaglutide if your plan covers it, up to the 2026 limit of $3,400.
Important safety information
Compounded tirzepatide and semaglutide are not FDA-approved, and the FDA hasn’t reviewed them for safety, effectiveness or quality. A provider prescribes them only when they offer a significant difference for you compared with an FDA-approved product. Both medicines may cause thyroid tumors, including cancer: don’t use either if you or a family member has had medullary thyroid carcinoma (MTC) or multiple endocrine neoplasia syndrome type 2 (MEN 2).
Read the full safety information
In studies with rodents, both medicines caused thyroid tumors; it isn’t known whether they cause them in people. Tell your provider if you notice a lump or swelling in your neck, hoarseness, trouble swallowing or shortness of breath. Serious side effects can include inflammation of the pancreas (pancreatitis), gallbladder problems, low blood sugar (especially with insulin or sulfonylureas), kidney problems from dehydration, severe stomach problems, serious allergic reactions, vision changes in people with type 2 diabetes, and a faster heart rate. Tell your care team before any surgery or procedure that uses anesthesia or deep sedation. Don’t combine either medicine with other
Tirzepatide can make birth control pills less effective: switch to a non-oral method, or add a barrier method such as condoms, for 4 weeks after you start and for 4 weeks after each dose increase. Both medicines may harm an unborn baby. Semaglutide should be stopped at least 2 months before a planned pregnancy. Tell your provider right away if you’re pregnant, planning to be, or breastfeeding.
This is a summary, not the complete safety information. Read the full Prescribing Information for FDA-approved tirzepatide (Zepbound) and semaglutide (Wegovy), and talk with your provider. You can report side effects to the FDA at
† NexLife Price Match Guarantee: for new NexLife members switching from a licensed U.S. telehealth provider or clinic with an active prescription for compounded tirzepatide or semaglutide. We match your regular all-in monthly price there (medication plus any required membership, program or visit fee, on a month-to-month plan); first-month offers, coupons, referral credits and prepaid multi-month rates aren’t matched. Proof from the last 60 days required. A licensed provider must determine that treatment is right for you. Not open to people with Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE coverage. Full terms.
About NexLife. NexLife is a telehealth and care-coordination platform. Care is delivered through affiliated, physician-owned medical groups, and licensed providers decide whether treatment is right for you. NexLife doesn’t make or compound medication: state-licensed partner pharmacies fill each prescription, and we coordinate the rest. Available only in states where our affiliated providers are licensed.
“The Medicare
GLP-1 Bridge is a short-term demonstration run by CMS that will provide eligible Medicare Part D beneficiaries with access to certainGLP-1 drugs between July 1, 2026, and December 31, 2027.”
Who wrote and medically reviewed this page?
Leads the NexLife Medical Team, which writes and medically reviews NexLife’s guides, including this one.
Checked which accounts can pay (IRS Publications 502 and 969), the 2026 limits, FSA grace periods and carryovers, Wegovy’s self-pay prices and NexLife’s payment options.
- Every fact, sourced. Each price and rule links to the page it comes from.
- How we make money. NexLife is a telehealth and care-coordination platform. We earn revenue when people join NexLife.
- Corrections, fast. See something wrong or out of date? Email care@nexlife.us and we’ll fix it.
Paying less elsewhere? We match it.†
The paperwork, made simple.
Start online in about 3 minutes. Pay with your HSA or FSA card: $119 a month on the 12-month plan, or $139 month to month, at every dose.
4.8 out of 5 on Trustpilot · Medical director Adam Kennah, MD (NPI 1144260043) · LegitScript-certified
Compounded medications aren’t FDA-approved. A provider prescribes one only when it offers a significant difference for you.
- 1Tell us about you
Start online with your health history.
- 2A licensed provider decides
Online, following your state’s rules. You’re prescribed only if treatment is right for you.
- 3We ship it, then stay with you
Our partner pharmacy usually ships within 1 to 2 business days. Free shipping, and questions come to us 24/7, never to the pharmacy.
Sources
- Internal Revenue Service. Publication 502: Medical and dental expenses.
- Internal Revenue Service. Frequently asked questions about medical expenses related to nutrition, wellness and general health.
- Internal Revenue Service. Publication 969: Health savings accounts and other tax-favored health plans.
- Internal Revenue Service. IRS releases tax inflation adjustments for tax year 2026 (health FSA limit and carryover).
- Internal Revenue Service. Rev. Proc. 2025-19: 2026 HSA limits.
- Novo Nordisk. What to pay for Wegovy.
- KFF. What to know about the BALANCE Model and the Medicare
GLP-1 Bridge (updated May 11, 2026). - NexLife. Compounded semaglutide plans.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. FDA’s concerns with unapproved
GLP-1 drugs used for weight loss. - Eli Lilly and Company. Zepbound (tirzepatide) prescribing information.
- Novo Nordisk. Wegovy (semaglutide) prescribing information.
- LegitScript. LegitScript certification record for NexLife.us.
- NexLife. Compounded tirzepatide plans.
- Ro: weight loss program pricing. Checked November 1, 2026.
- Hims: Zepbound KwikPen. Checked November 1, 2026.
- Hims: Wegovy pill and pen, with membership. Checked November 1, 2026.
- Mochi Health: FAQs (membership and medication prices). Checked November 1, 2026.
- Embody: compounded tirzepatide, one-month supply. Checked November 1, 2026.
- Embody: compounded semaglutide, one-month supply. Checked November 1, 2026.
- Medicare.gov (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services). Weight loss drugs. The Medicare GLP-1 Bridge copay.